Head cracked open!

What’s your earliest memory involving another person? Recreate the scene — from the other person’s perspective.

Little Anna has come to visit.  This makes me smile from ear to ear, for she is so much fun and always happy to play anything I want.  Dad has sent us upstairs to play quietly while they have their boring grown up talk.

Whilst walking up the steep staircase I thought of a great dare game I could play with Anna.  I asked if she wanted to play and, with a big grin, she nodded, as she always does.  I told her to stand next to me at the top of the stairs.  I jumped down 2 steps in one go and then turned to Anna and said “your turn, you have to jump down as many as you can in one go”.  Anna stuck her tongue out in concentration and without hesitation jumped…

The leap was so full of gusto that it takes her little legs way passed their landing point and sends her with full momentum in to a forward roll all the way to the bottom of the stairs, where her head landed hard on the concrete floor.  Crack.  Dazed, Anna moved…phew at least she’s not dead.  Then I heard the grown ups rushing to investigate the banging.  Anna’s mum Suzanne is first through the door, she looks down in horror to discover Anna now lying in a pool of blood.  She sweeps her up and out of the house to the car.  Dad, calls me down and we all bundle into the car to go to the hospital.

Anna has to have stitches in her head and she gets given a toy for being brave.  As she comes out of the consultation room, I give her a wink “You win” I say, “I don’t know anyone who can jump all the stairs in one go!”

Baby Anna

Leave a Reply

